GOALS: It’s Not Just About Being SMART (part two)

goal

In the first blog of this series, I explored the SMART goals model and questioned whether  goals also needed to be more aligned with our mindset in order to really be effective.

I started to explore the  Six Elements of a Well-formed Outcome. Looking past the actual “target” to the “outcome” that we are wishing to achieve from achieving a goal.

If you missed Element #1 you can go back and read it here

Element #2 – Put your goal in context

Setting an effective goal goes way beyond just writing it down. You need to be able to visualise it happening.

Putting some context around a goal will allow it to feel more realistic in your mind. The more detail you can give the more likely it will become a reality.

 

Putting your goal into context will also help you to identify if there are any situations whereby you would not want to achieve your goal, for example if it meant that another party would be unfairly disadvantaged.

My experience of putting context around a goal

At the age of 25 I bought my own home. It was a big stretch for me having a 25 year mortgage on a single income, but I kept telling myself that by the age of 50 I would be mortgage free.

I set myself that timeframe and I kept focused on that and how it would feel to be free of debt and own my home outright.

At the time I didn’t know about visualising so I didn’t put it into context as far as who I would be with, or where I would be. Even if I had I don’t think that I would ever have contemplated that I would be living on the other side of the world!

Time went on, I bought a house with my partner, we got married (then divorced) and I bought him out. Still I was on track to be mortgage free before 50.

In 2006 at the age of 37 I emigrated to Australia and rented my house out. I met and married an Aussie guy and we were happy renting until 2014 when we made the decision to buy a house.

I was 45 years old, only 5 years off my target of being mortgage free by 50. My mortgage in the UK was minimal and was on track to be paid off early.

And now I had another 25 year mortgage. All I can say is that it felt like the right thing to do at the time.

So what happened?

18 months later at the age of 47, we sold our house for a decent profit, I sold my house in the UK and with some other savings we had we managed to buy a two bed apartment outright.

No mortgage.

I should say that definitely was not the plan when we bought the house – we had assumed that we would live there for years.

So my 20+ year goal was realised, 3 years early! I am now debt free and loving the freedom that brings to my life.

I am positive that being focused on that goal for 20 years, really believing that I was going to be debt free by the age of 50, but not getting caught up in worrying about how it was going to happen, enabled The Universe to make it happen for me.

It all started with setting my goal and setting a definite date.

How do you put your goal into context?

If you are unsure how to put more context around your goals here are some questions you could ask yourself:

When do you want to achieve your goal?

Where will you be when you achieve your goal?

Who will you be with when you will achieve your goal?

What will you see?

What will you hear?

How will you feel?

Are there any circumstances under which I would not wish to achieve this outcome?

If you found this content valuable then please like, comment and share. And look out for Element #3 coming soon 🙂

I would also love to connect with you over on my Facebook page

Sara Jaques – The Enenrgy Queen

 

Leave a Reply

